SOMETIMES THE ONE WHO LOVES YOU IS THE ONE WHO HURTS YOU THE MOST
Lily hasn’t always had it easy, but that’s never stopped her from working hard for the life she wants. She’s come a long way from the small town in Maine where she grew up – she graduated from college, moved to Boston, and started her own business. So when she feels a spark with a gorgeous neurosurgeon named Ryle Kincaid, everything in Lily’s life suddenly seems almost too good to be true.
Ryle is assertive, stubborn, and maybe even a little arrogant. He’s also sensitive, brilliant, and has a total soft spot for Lily, but Ryle’s complete aversion to relationships is disturbing.
As questions about her new relationship overwhelm her, so do thoughts of Atlas Corrigan – her first love and a link to the past she left behind. He was her kindred spirit, her protector. When Atlas suddenly reappears, everything Lily has built with Ryle is threatened.
With this bold and deeply personal novel, Colleen Hoover delivers a heart-wrenching story that breaks exciting new ground for her as a writer. It Ends With Us is an unforgettable tale of love that comes at the ultimate price.
This book contains graphic scenes and very sensitive subject matter.

Dear Colleen,
Girl, you have done the unthinkable…the unimaginable with this book. Lord, I never read a book that I loved so much while simultaneously being completely disappointed in the main characters.
Let me backtrack a little.
Even though I bought It Ends With Us on release day, I knew I wouldn’t get a chance to read it right away, but #releasedaysalesmatter so I did my part. I avoided all discussions and reviews of this book, because after reading November 9, I knew that Colleen was going to come with a plot twist that I was not expecting. If that moment was spoiled for me, I would have been pissed so I made sure that didn’t happen. I’m hip to how the Internet works, in case you didn’t know.
Alright, if you haven’t read or finished this book,

STOP READING NOW. THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS. I’M DEAD ASS SERIOUS – GO READ SOMETHING ELSE.

If you continue to read past this point, don’t come in my inbox crying because I ruined the book for you. I already warned you.
That being said…just from the book description, I had no idea this book had a domestic violence theme. I don’t love domestic-violence books, but I read them and I’ve written them because I’m a domestic abuse survivor.
Colleen, I want to thank you because you wrote this book in such a way that it didn’t trigger me. I was able to get through it without having a panic attack.


Lily Bloom is a character that I found that most of Colleen’s target audience would relate to. In my opinion, she’s not especially spectacular. She’s average, and that’s exactly what a person living in an abusive household wants to be. She didn’t want to stand out. She didn’t want to be noticed because being noticed makes it hard to hold on to your secret.
Her conflicted feelings towards her father and mother were justifiable, especially towards her mother. As a child watching your mother get beat by your father, you want to protect her, but at the same time, you want her to leave and don’t understand why she keeps letting this happen to her. Lily is an uncomplicated teenager with a caring heart, yet she’s still a teenager. I loved how she wrote down her feelings in the form of letters to Ellen because I did something similar when I was a teenager.
Let me get into this story though because it’s much better than anything I’ve read this year.
So, Lily, as a teenager, lives in an abusive household. Even though she isn’t the direct recipient of the abuse, she’s still a victim. The book opens with Lily returning to her apartment in Boston after her father’s funeral and trying to deal with all the frustrations and conflicting feelings she has regarding this life changing moment. It’s then that we meet Ryle.
God, I wanted to love Ryle, but from the start something about him seemed off, as if there was an underlying darkness dwelling that could potentially make him a bad person. Now I know to ALWAYS trust my instincts when reading a Colleen Hoover book. I got the same feeling about Atlas. I just didn’t trust either of them. There always seemed to be something sketch about Atlas.


When I say I was disappointed in Ryle and Lily, it’s because of the emotions that their story made me feel, I wanted them to work. I wanted them to be exactly what the other needed, and for a minute they were. As their relationship progressed, I found myself cheering for Ryle because he’d made such big changes in his life. But when the first incident happened, my heart sank because I knew there was no coming back from that. Even when Lily gave him her firm warning.
I wasn’t disappointed in Lily at that moment. She loved Ryle and he loved her. It was scary but she felt he deserved a second chance. at that moment, for what it’s worth, it definitely could have been an accident.
I wanted to snatch Ryle up by his throat and scream at him, “WHAT THE HELL ARE YOU DOING?!”

He knew what she’d experienced as a child. He knew how fragile her heart was, yet he still didn’t tell her his dark secret. He had every opportunity to be a good person who does good things, not a good person who occasionally does something bad, yet he didn’t take it until it was too late. That pissed me off.
As much as I will not blame Lily for Ryle’s behavior, she needs to be held accountable for her own actions. There were a few opportunities for her to give Ryle the “naked truth” about Atlas. I won’t say she was at fault for Ryle’s behavior, but keeping that secret complicated the situation when it didn’t have to.
That’s why I was disappointed. For me, Atlas was something that happened in the past to bring her to this point. He wasn’t supposed to be the Hero Who Gets the Girl. To me, he served his purpose and was no longer the focal point of her life. She could have moved on if she allowed herself to do it. It’s almost as if she didn’t even try.
I didn’t view this ending as a happily ever after because honesty, I don’t think that she will be completely happy with Atlas. I don’t think that Lily grew much from her relationship with Ryle. She didn’t become stronger; she was already that. She was playing a waiting game with him…no matter how much she loved Ryle, her heart wasn’t a hundred percent with him. It couldn’t be until she rectified the situation with Atlas.
As for Ryle, man…his story is sad. But I love how Colleen made him have to face the consequences of his actions, even though his love for Lily never faltered. He had to lose in this situation. Both he and Lily needed him to pay for what he did. Because her father never paid any consequence for what he did to Lily’s mom, the man in Lily’s life who hurt her had to pay. I’m really glad that Colleen chose to go that route because it would have sucked even harder if Lily had stayed.
Overall, there were so many WTF moments, so many tears, so many “Noooo!!!!” yelled out to startled pets that I’d give this book 10 stars if I could. Definitely another must read for Ms. Hoover.

