Comedian, activist, and hugely popular culture blogger at AwesomelyLuvvie.com, Luvvie Ajayi, serves up necessary advice for the masses in this hilarious book of essays

With over 500,000 readers a month at her enormously popular blog, AwesomelyLuvvie.com, Luvvie Ajayi is a go-to source for smart takes on pop culture. I’m Judging You is her debut book of humorous essays that dissects our cultural obsessions and calls out bad behavior in our increasingly digital, connected lives—from the importance of the newest Shonda Rhimes television drama to serious discussions of race and media representation to what to do about your fool cousin sharing casket pictures from Grandma’s wake on Facebook.

With a lighthearted, razor sharp wit and a unique perspective, I’m Judging You is the handbook the world needs, doling out the hard truths and a road map for bringing some “act right” into our lives, social media, and popular culture. It is the Do-Better Manual.

I’ve been a big fan of Luvvie for years. I find her blogs hilarious, and was expecting the same from this book. I couldn’t wait to pre-order this thing as soon as she announced that she was actually writing a book and had a book deal. One of my favorite hashtags is #dobetter and when she announced the name of the book, I was all…

For her first book, she came through big time. Even though I was a tiny bit concerned that some of the material would come from blog posts that I’ve already read (yes, that has happened to me before)I didn’t feel like the material was recycled, and it was standard Luvvie.

Like Issa Rae, Luvvie Ajayi is one of those women that you feel you know in real life because she’s just that goddamn relatable. While reading this book, there were many shouts of

tumblr_inline_nadkxup9yt1qhzmz8

like she was right there in the room with me and we were discussing the impossible standards of beauty that society has placed on women, especially women of color. It’s rare to find an activist/feminist who is fun and easy to talk to. Or read.

But this book was funny because by nature, Luvvie is hilarious. Her references and Luvvie Lingo should be patented. There were parts of this book that were so on point, so real and hard hitting that you gotta take a step back and evaluate yourself as a human being. This book is seriously a Do Better manual because we can benefit by being more than just decent human beings.

I’m glad to have this on one my book shelf and can’t wait to read more from this Shady Lady.

