Raised in a wealthy, influential, Islamic African family, Midnight enjoys a life of comfort, confidence, and protection. Midnight’s father provides him with a veil of privilege and deep, devoted love, but he never hides the truth about the fierce challenges of the world outside of his estate. So when Midnight’s father’s empire is attacked, he sends Midnight with his mother to the United States.

In the streets of Brooklyn, a young Midnight uses his Islamic mind-set and African intelligence to protect the ones he loves, build a business, reclaim his wealth and status, and remain true to his beliefs.

Midnight, a handsome and passionate young man, attracts many women. How he interacts and deals with them is a unique adventure. This is a highly sensual and tremendous love story about what a man is willing to risk and give to the women he loves most. Midnight will remain in your mind and beat in your heart for a lifetime.

Oh, how do I even begin? Like every fan of The Coldest Winter Ever, I was highly anticipating this novel. After all, Midnight was one of my favorite characters in that book. I always thought he was way out of Winter’s league. Midnight’s stoic demeanor, no-nonsense attitude, and fierce loyalty were swoon-worthy. I was actually looking forward to the fact that this book was a prequel to TCWE. I was a bit disappointed. Let me tell you why.

First, it’s way too long! And slow. I can read a book in a day or two if it’s interesting, no matter the length. It took me 27 days to read this book. I kept putting it down and picking it back up thinking that maybe, just maybe, it would speed up. It didn’t. It just dragged along for 500 pages.

Second, the description is deceiving. This book is not a story that will move your heart and change your life forever. Well maybe, the description is a little true. I will never in my life read another book based on the characters in The Coldest Winter Ever…ever again in my life which changes my life a little since I was planning on reading the one about Porscha Santiago.

The sad thing about this book is that it did not make me like or understand Midnight more. I actually began to dislike him immensely.
I understood his strict upbringing but then the story went left when he met Akemi and fell in love with this girl who doesn’t speak any language that he can understand. He loves her but can’t communicate with her? So unrealistic. Midnight is supposed to be a boy with a powerful mind. I get that. He is very intelligent and a quick thinker. However, nothing is new about his interaction with women. Just like any other man, his weakness is his woman. And as much shit as he talked about American black women, the love of his life, Akemi, was just as bad as them. She wasn’t extraordinary or different from Bangs or any of the “hood chicks” that Midnight proclaimed were whores, (lustful, materialistic, and disrespectful). Akemi was just that but she didn’t speak the language so she should have gotten a pass? No ma’am. Such bullshit!

I couldn’t get past the feelings that Midnight had for America and American women. Midnight was disrespectful, judgmental, and close-minded. He had that “my country is better than yours. My religion is better than yours.” mentality that is a complete turnoff. If this country is so bad, why are you here? If black American women are such whores and not worthy of you, go away.

At some point in the story, Midnight goes from training to be a ninja (you read that correctly) to being a basketball sensation to a killer. His progression was disjointed at best but I can’t see why that would be in a book that’s over 500 pages long. You’d think that was enough time to properly transition the story. You’d think.

A positive about the book is that it showed me how many different cultures and religions view America, espeicaly through the eyes of a child. That was eye opening.

This book failed my expectations in so many ways. I’m really sad about that because Souljah took my favorite character and turned him into someone I never want to read about again. Maybe, I didn’t need his backstory. They say, “be careful of what you wish for.”

Lesson learned.

