Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten.

First, let me just say that I just became one of those adult women who read young adult books so I have a lot of catching up to do. TFIOS instantly became a classic in my eyes. This book is more than just a book about kids with cancer. Hazel wasn’t just a cancer patient. She was a teenager dealing with cancer and the affect it had on everyone around her. Therefore, she was diagnosed as clinically depressed and forced to attend Cancer Survivors Meetings, which in my opinion, seem worse than dealing with it on your own. The best thing about Hazel’s support group is Augustus Waters. Augustus is flawed and perfect at the same time. He’s exactly what Hazel needs and they fall in love. This wasn’t a romantic love story though. I didn’t have those swoon worthy moments.It was a sense of relief that something good was happening to these kids because they truly deserved every moment of happiness they could squeeze out of the each day.

TFIOS is a much more complex story than cancer kids. This is not a typical YA. There’s no high school drama. No popular girl gets ridiculed while the homely one gets the guy. Although they’re teenagers who engage in the things teenagers like, this is a love story of words. This is absolutely a love story of words. The prose is breathtaking. You want these kids to squeeze out every single moment of joy and happiness that they can have together because…it’s cancer. John Green’s characters always seem a bit unrealistic, especially if you haven’t been exposed to these types of teens. He uses lots of hundred-dollar words that the typical teen would bypass in favor of OMG or AMAZEBALLS. However, they’re intelligent and doesn’t sound like they’re trying too hard.
I cheated a little because I talked to people about the book before I actually read it so I knew what was coming at the end. Thank God for people who post spoilers because the ending would have had me writhing on my bed in a puddle of wine and tears.

My favorite quote forever will be…

I fell in love with him the way you fall asleep…slowly and then all at once.

I found myself lost in the prose and emotionally attached to these characters, knowing that their story could not and would not end well.Neither one had the most remarkable diagnosis so you know it’s going to be a tragic love story. But I think it was a much needed love story.There aren’t many books that, when asked how the book was, my only response is “perfect”. TFIOS is a perfect example of everything that is good and imperfect in our world. It is eloquently awkward while being startling truthful.

So often, we get the prettied up side to illness. We get to see the struggle but not really. We often don’t get to see how ugly and heart wrenching it is. How unfair it is.This book touched every single one of my heart strings. I laughed, cried, gasped, and cried some more. At some point, I threw down my Kindle and yelled “I give up!”
I long for books that make me cling to the characters as if they are real life friends. I felt a genuine sense of awe and happiness and shed real tears when I reached the final page of this amazing book. The only thing I could think of was that TFIOS is devastatingly good. I live for books like this and John Green could write the alphabet backwards for 300 pages and I’d still support him, simply because he wrote a perfect book.

